Herstyn Jones’ Reflection on the First Week

My first week probably wasn’t as tiresome as others because, although I wanted to come everyday, due to an unscheduled conflict I was on able to come twice this week: Monday and Tuesday.  The time I did spend with the first graders at Lafayette Charter School was an overall enjoyable experience.  They all seemed to be very intelligent and to have a willingness to participate in the service learning project.  My first day I worked with a little youngin named Julien and although he fronted like he was a tough guy he sooned warmed up to me and we were able to get most of his homework done.  Today, was a pretty productive day as well.  My group was able to get all the students homework done in about an hour and had roughly thirty minutes to plan out the photography project and a song/dance performance that they can do.  (Well, were still working out the blueprint for the song/dance part but the students are eagar to participate.)  I can’t wait til next week, because I will be able to be there most of the week!

Leave a comment